What is truth?

Jesus said, “For this purpose I was born and for this purpose I have come into the world – to bear witness to the truth” (John 18:37 ESV)

But 2000 years later, the world still asks – what is truth?

A Good Friday Reflection based on Mark 8:27-38 and John 18:1 – 19:30

I know what they say about you.

I also know the words you say about yourself.

Shameful, embarrassing, sinner, traitor, violent, war-mongering, exhausted, unfair, anxious, worried, in denial, depressed, suicidal, proud, wounded, hurt, lifeless

I carried these words to the cross.

They died with me.

Did you hear that? Died.

 

Like chains these words weigh on humanity

These chains I willingly carried to the cross

 

No one knew.

No doubt the Romans with their love of war and control would have tried to stop me.

No one knew.

No doubt the Pharisees and their love of power and shame would have tried to stop me.

No one knew.

No doubt the people – some of my disciples even – with their anxieties and worries would have tried to stop me.

 

Instead

the Romans, the Pharisees, the people

they urged me on,

spitting on me,

swearing at me,

as I carried all of their suffering and pain through the streets.

As they nailed me to the cross.

I knew.

God knew.

“It is finished” we declared.

 

I see your suffering, I see your chains.

But I see beyond them to the real you.

I call you friend.

 

But who am I to you?

The whip tears my flesh; their mocking crown pierces my brow.

You wanted a king.

Who am I to you?

 

They spit in my face and distort my words.

You wanted a powerful speaker.

Who am I to you?

 

They put me in my place, hammering the nails into my hands and feet.

Yet you run away, free.

Who am I to you?

 

My actions spoke louder than their words.

Yet you hide in the shadows.

Who am I to you?

Voice 1: Son of David have mercy! (Mark 10:47)

Voice 2: Behold the lamb of God who takes away the sin of the world! (John 1:29)

Voice 3: Rabbi, teacher!

Voice 4: Messiah, God’s anointed one

Voice 5: This is my Son, whom I love (Mark 1:11)

Love God, love people, love one another

That is how people will know you love me.

Remember – I call you friends

Leave a Reply

