Porridge, Beans and Rice

For five days I am only eating plain porridge, beans and rice in support of Tearfund, and I would like to share with you why.

Last year I visited a Tearfund partner’s project.  It was an after-school club held in a tiny two room building.  On the wall of this building I noticed a brass plaque with the name of a famous evangelist.  The evangelist’s organisation provided food for the children.  However in contrast, the name of Tearfund did not appear anywhere at the project.  In fact, not all the volunteers even knew of Tearfund’s help.  The children certainly did not know about Tearfund.

When you give to Tearfund, some of that money is invested into local projects run by local partners like the one I visited.  Tearfund do not do this to raise recognition for themselves.  They do what they do, behind the scenes, to make God’s love known.  In helping behind the scenes, Tearfund empower the local people to help each other.  There is more dignity for those receiving help and for the volunteers.  The whole community benefits and hopefully will eventually be able to sustain the project itself until the help is no longer needed.

I hope you will join me and all those accepting the Mean Bean Challenge in supporting and praying for Tearfund.

During the week, I will be thinking about 1 Corinthians 11:17-34.  Paul writes to the church in Corinth, and at this part in his letter talks to them specifically about how they share the Lord’s Supper.  Maybe there are some insights for us to think about in how food is shared, not just at Communion, but other food too?  For my first day of the challenge, I will be focussing on 1 Corinthians 11:27-29, especially that phrase ‘examining themselves’.

I hope you will join me on this journey.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

